Weather Forecast


1:30 a.m. Update: McNamar wins District 12A, Westrom takes District 12

MORRIS - Democrat Jay McNamar narrowly beat Republican Scott Dutcher in the race for House District 12A, while Republican Torrey Westrom handily beat Democrat John Schultz for Senate District 12.

With all precincts reporting, McNamar had 10,092 votes to Dutcher's 9,837 votes. Independence Party candidate Dave Holman had 1,305 votes.

With 206 of 208 precincts reporting, Westrom held more than 61 percent of the vote (24,944) compared to about 39 percent of the vote for Schultz (15,630 votes).

Kim Ukura

Kim Ukura began working at the Farmington/Rosemount Independent Town Pages in August of 2016. Previously, she served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune for five years. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing. She has been recognized by the Minnesota Newspaper Association for human interest, multimedia, business and public affairs reporting. 

(651) 460-6606