Weather Forecast



accomplishments Morris,Minnesota 56267
Morris Sun Tribune
Morris Minnesota 607 Pacific Avenue 56267

Britney Greenwaldt of Morris graduated with honors from Bemidji State University with a bachelor of science degree in science education.

Nine area students were named to the dean's list at Alexandria Technical and Community College for the spring 2012 semester. Area students on the list include Douglas Nelson of Alberta, Lisa Gades of Cyrus, Sara Nohl of Hancock, Esther Koehl of Morris, Tyler McNally of Morris, Kayla Mitteness of Morris, Danielle Nordquist of Morris, Larissa Schmidgall of Morris, and Ashley Zidarich of Morris.

Students are recognized on the dean's list for achieving a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Haley Scheldorf of Chokio and Tristan Michealson of Morris were both named to the Bemidji State University dean's list for spring 2012. Bemidji State students carrying 12 or more semester hours during any one term and earning at least 3.25 (B-plus) grade point average are listed on the dean's list.

The University of Minnesota Twin Cities has named Kevin Viratyosin of Morris to the spring semester dean's list. Viratyosin is a student in the university's College of Continuing Education.

Megan Thooft, a native of Cyrus, has been named to the dean's list for the Winter 2012 semester, at St. Catherine University in St. Paul. Thooft is a junior at St. Kate's. Thooft is the daughter of Tom and Susan Thooft of Cyrus. The St. Catherine University dean's list recognizes students achieving a semester grade point average of 3.667 or higher.

Lily Erdal of Chokio has been accepted to and has chosen to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris. Erdal, a 2014 graduate of Morris Area High School will attend Morris beginning fall 2012.

The following students received a diploma at Alexandria Technical and Community College's graduation ceremony held on May 9, 2012 in Alexandria: Jonathon Jallo of Morris received an associate in applied science degree in mechatronics. Jallo graduated with honors; Kayla Mullins of Morris received associate in applied science degrees in legal administrative assistant and paralegal. Mullins is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society; Larissa Schmidgall of Morris received a diploma in administrative assistant. Schmidgall graduated with honors and was named Outstanding Student in the administrative assistant program; Amy Searle of Morris received a diploma in medical coding specialist. Searle is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Gang Li of Morris was named to the dean's list for the spring 2012 semester at Washington University in St. Louis. Li graduated May 18 from the university's School of Engineering and Applied Science. To qualify for the dean's list in the School of Engineering and Applied Science, students must earn a semester grade point average of 3.6 or above and be enrolled in at least 12 graded units.

Morris Sun Tribune Staff