Weather Forecast


Emma Zosel named Miss Morris Area 2014

Emma Zosel of Morris was crowned Miss Morris Area 2014 on Saturday, July 12. She was crowned by Miss Minnesota Savannah Cole, Miss Morris Area 2013 Cassey Hickman and Miss Midwest 2013 Chelsea Swiggum. (Kim Ukura/Sun Tribune)1 / 2
Emma Zosel, Abigale Bodene, and Tori Fuhrman. (Kim Ukura/Sun Tribune)2 / 2

MORRIS – Emma Zosel of Morris was named Miss Morris Area 2014 on Saturday, July 12 at a competition at Morris Area High School.

Abigale Bodene of Forest Lake, Minn., a student at the University of Minnesota, Morris, was named Miss Midwest 2014 and Tori Fuhrman of Morris was named Miss Morris Area First Runner Up.

Master of Ceremonies Shane Johnson was recognized for his 20 years of service to the pageant. Contest organizers renamed the interview award to the “Shane Johnson Interview Award” in his honor.

The ceremony also included a tribute to Morris Morris Area 2007 Bethany Tickle, who passed away in May. Tickle was voted “Miss Congeniality” at the Miss Minnesota Scholarship Program that year. The spirit award for this competition was renamed the Bethany Tickle Spirit Award.

Kim Ukura

Kim Ukura began working at the Farmington/Rosemount Independent Town Pages in August of 2016. Previously, she served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune for five years. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing. She has been recognized by the Minnesota Newspaper Association for human interest, multimedia, business and public affairs reporting. 

(651) 460-6606