Weather Forecast


Filing period for state, county elections closes

MORRIS – The filing period has closed for several statewide and county offices.

Here’s a rundown of the local seats up for election and the candidates who have filed. Minnesota’s primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 12.

State Representative District 12A – Incumbent Jay McNamar (DFL) will be challenged by either Republican Nancy Taffe of Morris or Republican Jeff Backer of Browns Valley.

Stevens County Board of Commissioners – Current Commissioner Jeanne Ennen is the only candidate to file for a seat in District 2. In District 5, Laurie Vavra will challenge sitting Commissioner Phil Gausman for the seat.

Other filings include Jason Dingman for Sheriff, Aaron Jordan for County Attorney, Neil Wiese for County Auditor/Treasurer, Virgina Mahoney for County Recorder, James Krosch for Soil and Water Supervisor in District 3 and Greg Fynboh for Soil and Water Supervisor in District 2

The filing period for offices in municipalities and school districts that hold primaries is May 20 through June 3. The filing period for municipalities and school districts that do not hold primaries – including the City of Morris and the Morris Area School District – is July 29 through Aug. 12.

Minnesota’s general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Kim Ukura

Kim Ukura began working at the Farmington/Rosemount Independent Town Pages in August of 2016. Previously, she served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune for five years. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing. She has been recognized by the Minnesota Newspaper Association for human interest, multimedia, business and public affairs reporting. 

(651) 460-6606