Weather Forecast


Morris Area School Board approves 4.52 percent levy increase for 2012-13

Email News Alerts

MORRIS - In a 4 to 1 vote, the Morris Area School Board passed an approximately $3.2 million levy, the maximum allowed by the State of Minnesota, for the 2012-2013 school year at their meeting on Monday night.


Board Chair Kurt Gartland cast the lone dissenting vote. Board member Laura Carrington, who previously said she would not vote to increase taxes, was not at Monday's meeting.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet? You can activate your account here: Activate All Access.

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.

Kim Ukura
Kim Ukura has served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune since August 2011. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing.