Weather Forecast


Morris Area school board approves consolidation with Cyrus

Email News Alerts

MORRIS, Minn. -- The Morris Area School Board voted 4-0 on Monday in favor of moving forward with a consolidation with the Cyrus School District despite deep concerns about the financial implications the district could face with the Cyrus school building.


Board members Kurt Gartland, Dick Metzger, Jamie Solvie and Stan Wulf voted in favor of the plat, while board member Laura Carrington abstained. Board members Lory Lemke and Brent Fuhrman were not at Monday's meeting.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet? You can activate your account here: Activate All Access.

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.

Kim Ukura
Kim Ukura has served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune since August 2011. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing.