Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement

REMINDER: Spring turkey hunting applications accepted through Friday

Email

Hunters older than 17 who want to hunt during the first four seasons of Minnesota's 2013 spring wild turkey hunt have until Friday, Jan. 11, to apply for a permit, according to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR). Youth hunters 17 and younger can purchase a permit for any season over-the-counter.

Advertisement

The hunt will consist of six five-day and two seven-day seasons. All adult resident and nonresident wild turkey hunters interested in hunting during one of the first four seasons must apply online, in-person or by phone. Permits for each of the last four seasons will be sold over-the-counter only and no applications will be taken.

A total of 5,781 permits are available for the spring turkey hunt. Dates for 2013 are:

Season A - Wednesday, April 17, to Sunday, April 21.

Season B - Monday, April 22, to Friday, April 26.

Season C - Saturday, April 27, to Wednesday, May 1.

Season D - Thursday, May 2, to Monday, May 6.

Season E - Tuesday, May 7, to Saturday, May 11.

Season F - Sunday, May 12, to Thursday, May 16.

Season G - Friday, May 17, to Thursday, May 23.

Season H - Friday, May 24, to Thursday, May 30.

Permit areas were consolidated from 77 to 12 last year, providing wild turkey hunters more flexibility and opportunity in larger geographic areas.

One slight change alters the boundary between permit areas 501 and 503. Check the map at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey for details.

All hunters must pay a nonrefundable $4 application fee at the time of application. Nonresident hunters may apply online or telephone at 888-665-4236 (MNLICENSE). A nonrefundable $3.50 transaction fee will be charged for online and telephone applications.

Hunters who are not successful in the drawing may purchase surplus turkey permits, which are sold on a first-come, first-served basis, in mid-March. They also may choose to purchase a license over-the-counter for any of the last four time periods.

Hunters who are successful in the drawing for one of the first four hunts and choose not to purchase a tag will lose the current year's preference point for future drawings but not accumulated preference from past years.

The availability of archery resident and nonresident spring turkey licenses includes the last four seasons. Archery licenses may be purchased for the last four hunts only in any permit area with 50 or more applicants. Licensed archers may hunt each and all of the entire last four time periods.

An application information sheet is available from any DNR license agent and online at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey. Hunt information materials include a map of wild turkey permit areas, permit quotas and season dates.

Information also is available by calling the DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157 or toll-free -888-646-6367.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
randomness