Weather Forecast

Bill Eckersen (seated, middle) is this year's recipient of the Morris Human Rights Award. He was honored by the Morris City Council at a meeting last month and received a standing ovation. Eckersen is pictured with members of the Morris Human Rights Commission: From left, seated are commission members Ida Stewart and Christine Gibson. From left, in back, are members Mike Miller, Tom McRoberts and Bert Ahern.

Sending a Powerful Message

Email News Alerts

By Tom Larson

Sun Tribune

Most people who win awards do so by dint of things they've done.

Bill Eckersen is the recipient of the Morris Human Rights Award because of who he is.


Eckersen is the third winner of the award created by the City of Morris' Human Rights Commission, and he received the honor last month.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet? You can activate your account here: Activate All Access.

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.