Weather Forecast


Stevens County precinct caucuses reflect Minnesota results

News Morris,Minnesota 56267
Morris Sun Tribune
Stevens County precinct caucuses reflect Minnesota results
Morris Minnesota 607 Pacific Avenue 56267

MORRIS, Minn. - Stevens County Republicans were joined by Rep. Torrey Westrom and Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen at their caucus Tuesday night, where a majority of delegates voted for Rick Santorum in the presidential straw poll. Stevens County DFL supporters overwhelmingly supported Barack Obama.

Around 120 people attended the Republican caucus at the Prairie Inn, said county party chair Dan Pagel. Of the 101 votes cast in the presidential straw poll, 51 went to Santorum, 25 to Ron Paul, 14 to Mitt Romney, 10 to Newt Gingrich and one person was undecided.

The votes in Stevens County echoed the statewide results. Santorum won 45 percent of the Minnesota vote, with Ron Paul coming in second with 27 percent of the vote. Across the county, Santorum also won in both Missouri and Colorado.

"[Santorum] has come on pretty strong in this part of the country," said Pagel. "[The Republican primary] is going to be an interesting race, depending on who is ahead this week and in the next couple of months."

The Republican county convention is Friday, March 2 at 7 p.m. at the Morris Senior Center.

Around 50 people attended Tuesday night's DFL caucus at the Morris Area Elementary School, said DFL county party chair Jeff Lamberty.

Of those eligible to cast ballots in the Presidential Preference Ballot, 46 were cast for Barack Obama and one was cast for "uncommitted." Across the state, more than 98 percent of votes cast were for Obama.

The DFL county convention is Saturday, March 24 starting at 9 a.m. at the Morris American Legion.

Kim Ukura

Kim Ukura has served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune since August 2011. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing. She has been recognized by the Minnesota Newspaper Association for human interest, multimedia, business and public affairs reporting.