Weather Forecast


Three new members appointed to Morris Area School Board

News Morris,Minnesota 56267
Morris Sun Tribune
Three new members appointed to Morris Area School Board
Morris Minnesota 607 Pacific Avenue 56267

MORRIS, Minn. -- The Morris Area School Board has three new members to start the school year.

On Tuesday, the Morris Area School Board appointed Doug Stahman to fill a position temporarily vacated by Laura Carrington and Brad Zimmel and Lisa Kurtz to fill two recently-vacated positions

The School Board Executive Committee -- Chair Kurt Gartland, Vice Chair Robyn VanEps, and Secretary/Treasurer Dick Metzger -- received five applications for the three open positions.

In a memo, Superintendent Scott Monson said the committee developed a list of criteria to evaluate candidates: familiarity with the school district; familiarity with PreK-12 education; representative of the views of the district and community; and previous experience in the community and on various groups, committees and governing bodies.

After "significant discussion," the committee put forth Stahman, Zimmel and Kurtz as recommended applicants for the three vacancies.

Each of the three vacancies is slightly different, and filling one will required a special election in 2014. Carrington, an existing member of the board, has temporarily vacated her position for health reasons. Stahman will fill her seat until she decides to return.

The second vacancy is for a term that has less than two years left. Zimmel will fill that term until it expires in Jan. 2015.

The third is for a position that had more than two years left, which means a special election needed to be called. The board appointed Kurtz to fill the seat until a special election can be held in Nov. 2014 to fill the seat until the term expires in Jan. 2017.

Kim Ukura

Kim Ukura has served as the editor of the Morris Sun Tribune since August 2011. She graduated from the University of Minnesota, Morris in 2008 with degrees in English and journalism. She earned a master's degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 2010. Prior to returning to Morris to work at the Sun Tribune, she worked in trade publishing. She has been recognized by the Minnesota Newspaper Association for human interest, multimedia, business and public affairs reporting.